The penalties for a DUI (driving under the influence) conviction in Orange County, California may vary depending upon a number of particular circumstances. However, the basic penalties which may be enforced for a California DUI conviction are listed below:

 

First DUI Offense:

·            2 days to 6 months in county jail

·            Driver's license suspension for at least 4 months

·            Probation for 1 to 5 years

·            3 to 6 months of alcohol classes

·            Fines and court fees of $2,000 to $3,500

·            Ignition Interlock Device (IID): installation in car owned or driven by you required after 7/1/2010.

 

Second DUI Offense (within 10 years):

·            4 days  to 1 year in county jail

·            Driver's license suspension for 1 to 2 years

·            1 to 5 years of probation

·            18 to 30 months of mandatory alcohol classes

·            AA meetings

·            Fines and court fees of $3,500 to $4,800

·            Ignition Interlock Device (IID): installation in car owned or driven by you required.

 

Third DUI Offense (within 10 years):

·            Driver's license suspension for up to 3 years

·            Up to 5 years of probation

·            18 to 30 months of alcohol classes

·            AA meetings

·            Fines of up to $5,500

·            Ignition Interlock Device installed on defendant's vehicle

·            4 months to 1 year in jail

 

Fourth DUI Offense (within 10 years):

·            Felony Charges

·            License suspension for up to 4 years

·            At least 18 months of mandatory alcohol classes

·            AA meetings

·            Up to $4.500 in fines

·            1 to 5 years of imprisonment in state prison

·            Interlock Device (IID): installation in car owned or driven by you required once license is reinstated.

 

DUI Penalty Enhancements

 

Additionally, the following factors may result in enhanced penalties:

 

·            A blood alcohol concentration of .16% or greater

·            A minor under the age of 14 in the car with the defendant at the time of the offense

·            Prior DUI convictions

·            Causing an auto accident resulting in injury or death

 

In additional to the fines, penalties and incarceration listed below, the California Department of Alcohol and Drug Programs states the additional costs associated with a DUI conviction can exceed $10,000.  The following is a conservative breakdown for a first DUI conviction: 

           

·            Tow & Impound                          $ 300

·            DUI Treatment Program          $ 600

·            Insurance Increase                    $ 6,000 (Per Auto Club)

·            Lost wages do to court appearances and

            mandatory jail sentences         $ 1,000 to $50,000

·            Ignition Interlock Device           $ 3,500 (minimum)

 

Southern California DUI Attorney

 

To have the greatest opportunity of avoiding the many penalties and negative consequences of an Orange County DUI conviction, be sure to contact our experienced DUI attorneys as soon as possible. We are here to offer you the aggressive and dedicated representation you deserve. 

 

Call 1(877) DUI-PROS now for a free consultation.

Defending Those Accused of DUI

DUI Penalties

Local Offices:    ( 7 1 4 ) 5 5 8 - 1 2 0 0

( 9 4 9 ) 6 1 4 - 0 4 0 4

Toll-Free:          ( 8 7 7 ) 3 8 4 - 7 7 6 7

Numerous Offices, Including

Newport Beach, Irvine, Anaheim Hills, Huntington Beach, Mission Viejo, Orange, Costa Mesa, RSM & Beverly Hills

Proud Member

Partial List of Credentials

1(877) DUI-PROS

(949) 614-0404   *   (714) 558-1200

Free Consultation

DUI Lawyers

100% DUI DEFENSE